

Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting held at Gatehouse Theatre, Stafford on Saturday 14 May 2022

Councillor Tony Nixon (Mayor)

Present (for all or part of the meeting):-

Councillors:

J A Barron W J Kemp R J Baron R Kenney P A Leason F Beatty R P Cooke A M Loughran A G Cooper B McKeown **B M Cross** D McNaughton M G Dodson J A Nixon G P K Pardesi A P Edgeller P M M Farrington J M Pert M Philips I D Fordham A T A Godfrey J K Price P Rovcroft A S Harp A D Hobbs R M Smith J Hood R M Sutherland R A James C V Trowbridge E G R Jones M J Winnington

Officers in attendance:-

P W Jones

Mr T Clegg - Chief Executive

Mr I Curran - Head of Law and Administration
Mr J Dean - Democratic Services Officer

C1 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors C A Baron and M Green.

C2 Election of Mayor

RESOLVED:- that under the provisions of Section 3 of the Local Government Act 1972, Councillor P A Leason be elected Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until his successor becomes entitled to act in that Office.

(Councillor P A Leason was then invited to enter the Theatre and took the Chair. He was informed of and congratulated upon his election as Mayor of the Borough and having made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and taken the Oath of Allegiance to Her Majesty the Queen, expressed his appreciation to the Council for the confidence it was now placing on him).

Councillor P A Leason, Mayor (in the Chair)

C3 Mayor's Chaplin

The Mayor appointed Reverend Ian Cardinal as his Chaplain.

C4 Retiring Mayor

RESOLVED:- that the Council's appreciation of the services rendered by Councillor A Nixon be recorded.

C5 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

RESOLVED:- that Councillor P W Jones be hereby appointed Deputy Mayor for the period up to the next Annual Council meeting.

C6 Minutes

The Minutes of the meeting held on 19 April 2022 as previously circulated were agreed as a true and correct record.

MAYOR