

Civic Centre Riverside Stafford ST16 3AQ

4 September 2023

Dear Members

Special Council Meeting

I hereby give notice that a special meeting of the Council will be held in the **Council Chamber, County Buildings, Martin Street, Stafford** on **Tuesday 12 September 2023 at 7.00pm** to deal with the business as set out on the agenda.

Tim Clegg.

Tim Clegg Chief Executive

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING - 12 SEPTEMBER 2023

Mayor, Councillor Andy Cooper

AGENDA

1 Apologies for Absence

2 Declarations of Interest

Page Nos

3 Honorary Aldermen

3 - 7

Chief Executive

Civic Centre Riverside Stafford ST16 3AQ

Agenda Item 3

Honorary Aldermen

Committee:	Special Council
Date of Meeting:	12 September 2023
Report of:	Head of Law and Governance

1 Purpose of Report

1.1 To consider conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Mrs Christine Baron, Mr Ray Barron, Mr Patrick Farrington, Mr Jack Kemp, Mr Mike Smith and Mr Ray Sutherland.

2 Recommendations

- 2.1 That:
 - (a) the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Mrs Christine Baron, Mr Ray Barron, Mr Patrick Farrington, Mr Jack Kemp, Mr Mike Smith and Mr Ray Sutherland. in recognition of their eminent services to the Council as past members and,
 - (b) badges and illuminated addresses be produced for each Honorary Alderman and presented to them by the Mayor at a suitable ceremony to be arranged.

3 Key Issues

- 3.1 Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 empowers the Council to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent services to the Council as past members but who are not currently members.
- 3.2 The Act requires the resolution to confer the title of Honorary Aldermen to be passed by not less than a two-thirds majority at a Council meeting called specially for that purpose.
- 3.3 All six of the named past members have served the Council over a considerable number of years in various capacities but are no longer serving members.

4 Relationship to Corporate Priorities

4.1 Nil

5 Report Detail

- 5.1 Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 empowers the Council to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent services to the Council as past members but who are not currently members. Service on a predecessor authority can be counted for this purpose.
- 5.2 The Act requires the resolution to confer the title of Honorary Aldermen to be passed by not less than a two-thirds majority at a Council meeting called specially for that purpose.
- 5.3 The title of Honorary Alderman has the right to be addressed as "Alderman/ woman" and to attend civic ceremonies in that capacity. They have no right to attend or participate in Council meetings and cannot be paid an allowance
- 5.4 The service of each of the named past Councillors is set out below:-

Mrs Christine Baron

- Served on Stafford Borough Council 1987-2023
- Chairman of Community Scrutiny Committee 2000-2003 and 2008-2011
- Chairman of Housing Scrutiny Committee 2006-2007
- Vice Chairman Environmental Health and Public Protection Committee 1992-1993
- Mayor of Stafford 1999-2000

Mr Ray Barron

- Served on Stafford Borough Council 2008-2011 and 2015-2023
- Chairman of Employee Appeals Committee 2021-2022
- Mayor of Stafford Borough 2018-2019

Mr Patrick Farrington

- Served on Stafford Borough Council 2003-2023
- Leader of the Council 2015-2023
- Staffordshire Strategic Board 2019-2021
- Cabinet Member for Community Portfolio 2007-2015

Mr Jack Kemp

- Served on Stafford Borough Council 1973-2023
- Leader of the Council 1999-2003
- Chairman of Executive Committee 1999-2000
- Chairman of Economic Development and Planning Scrutiny Committee 2019-2022
- Chairman of Restructuring Sub-Committee 1998-1999
- Vice-Chairman of Best Value Member Working Party 1998-1999
- Vice-Chairman of Housing Conditions Sub-Committee Vice Chairman 1998-1999
- Chairman of Housing Benefit Review Board 1997-1999
- Vice-Chairman of Governance Working Group 1997-1999
- Chairman of Information Systems/Information Technology Strategy Working Party 1997-1999
- Vice-Chairman Electoral Review Sub Committee 1996-1999
- Vice-Chairman Unelected Bodies Working Group 1996-1997
- Chairman Law and Order Working Group 1995-1997
- Chairman Housing Benefit Review Board 1995-1998
- Chairman Access to Personnel Housing Files Review Sub Committee
 1992-1993
- Vice-Chairman Policy and Resources 1991-1993 and 1995-1999
- Vice-Chairman Rationalisation of Schools Sub-Committee 1991-1992
- Chairman Access to Personnel Housing Files Review Sub Committee
 1991-1992
- Vice Chairman Policy and Resources Committee 1991-1993 and 1995-1997
- Chairman Standing Orders and Financial Regulations Working Group
 1991-1993
- Mayor of Stafford Borough 1989-1990

Mr Mike Smith

- Served on Stafford Borough Council 2002-2023
- Deputy Leader of the Council 2011-2023
- Cabinet Member for Resources Portfolio 2019-2023
- Staffordshire Strategic Board 2019-2020
- Cabinet Member for Leisure Portfolio 2003-2019

Mr Ray Sutherland

- Served on Stafford Borough Council 2003-2023
- Chairman of Staffordshire Planning Forum Planning Committee 2019-2020
- Vice-Chairman Planning Committee 2017-2018
- Chairman of Standards Committee 2015-2019 and 2021-2022
- Chairman of Employee Appeals Committee 2015-2017
- Chairman of Planning Committee 2011-2013 and 2018-2020
- Chairman of Development Control Committee 2009-2011
- Chairman of Public Appeals Committee 2006-2009
- Mayor of Stafford Borough 2014-2015
- 5.5 The Act empowers the Council to spend a reasonable sum on presenting an address to the Honorary Alderman. It is proposed to produce an illuminated address and badges to present to the Honorary Aldermen. They will be presented at a ceremony or ceremonies to be arranged at a date or dates convenient to the recipients. The cost will be met from existing budgets.

6 Implications

6.1 Financial

Costs will be contained within existing budgets

6.2 Legal

Legal implications are set out in the report

6.3 Human Resources

Nil

6.4 Risk Management

Nil

6.5 Equalities and Diversity

Nil

6.6 Health

Nil

6.7 Climate Change

Nil

7 Appendices

Nil

8 Previous Consideration

Nil

9 Background Papers

Nil

Contact Officer:	lan Curran
Telephone Number:	01785 619220
Ward Interest:	Nil
Report Track:	Special Council (12/9/23) Only
Key Decision:	No