

Minutes of the Special Council held at County Buildings, Martin Street, Stafford on 12 September 2023

Councillor Andy Cooper (Mayor)

Present (for all or part of the meeting):-

Councillors:

K M Aspin B McKeown
J A Barron A R McNaughton
E L Carter D M McNaughton

R P Cooke A Nixon
B M Cross J A Nixon
M G Dodson L Nixon

A P Edgeller G P K Pardesi P C Edgeller A N Pearce I D Fordham J M Pert A D Hobbs J P Read J Hood A F Reid F D J James D P Rouxel A J Sandiford R A James P W Jones S N Spencer R Kenney J Thorley

P A Leason M J Winnington

Officers in attendance:-

T Clegg - Chief Executive

I Curran - Head of Law and Governance

W Conaghan - Press and Communication Manager

J Dean - Democratic Services Officer

C24 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors F E Beatty, A T A Godfrey, E G R Jones, A M Loughran, M Phillips, J S Powell and J T Rose.

C25 Honorary Aldermen

Considered the report the Head of Law and Governance (V1 01/09/23) in relation to the conferring of the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Mrs Christine Baron, Mr Ray Barron, Mr Patrick Farrington, Mr Jack Kemp, Mr Mike Smith and Mr Ray Sutherland.

The motion was proposed by Councillor R Kenney and seconded by Councillor J M Pert.

Members then voted on the proposal as set out, which was declared to be carried by more than the required two-thirds majority.

- RESOLVED:- that (a) the Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Mrs Christine Baron, Mr Ray Barron, Mr Patrick Farrington, Mr Jack Kemp, Mr Mike Smith and Mr Ray Sutherland in recognition of their eminent services to the Council as past Members and;
 - (b) badges and illuminated addresses be produced for each Honorary Alderman and presented to them by the Mayor at a suitable ceremony to be arranged.

MAYOR