

Minutes of the Annual Council (Mayor Making) Meeting held at the Gatehouse Theatre, Eastgate Street, Stafford on Saturday 11 May 2024

Councillor Andy Cooper (Mayor)

Present (for all or part of the meeting):-

Councillors: K M Aspin F E Beatty E L Carter R P Cooke **B M Cross** M G Dodson A P Edgeller I D Fordham A T A Godfrey A D Hobbs J Hood F D J James R A James E G R Jones P W Jones R Kenney P A Leason

A M Loughran **B** McKeown A R McNaughton D M McNaughton A Nixon L Nixon G P K Pardesi A N Pearce J M Pert J P Read A F Reid J T Rose D P Rouxel A J Sandiford S N Spencer J Thorley

Officers in attendance:-

T Clegg -	Chief Executive
I Curran -	Head of Law and Governance
J Peat -	Democratic and Corporate Services Manager
J Dean -	Democratic Services Officer
J Allen -	Democratic Services Officer

# C1 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors J A Barron, P C Edgeller, J A Nixon, M Phillips, J S Powell and M J Winnington.

## C2 Election of Mayor

RESOLVED:- that under the provisions of Section 3 of the Local Government Act 1972, Councillor F D J James be hereby elected Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until his successor becomes entitled to act in that Office.

(Councillor F D J James was then invited to enter the Theatre and took the Chair. He was informed of and was congratulated upon his election as Mayor of the Borough and, having made the Declaration of Acceptance of

Office and taken the Oath of Allegiance to His Majesty the King, expressed his appreciation to the Council for the confidence it was now placing on him).

Councillor Frank James, Mayor (in the Chair)

## C3 Mayor's Chaplin

The Mayor appointed Reverend John Davis as his Chaplain.

## C4 Retiring Mayor

RESOLVED:- that the Council's appreciation of the services rendered by Councillor A G Cooper be recorded.

### C5 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

RESOLVED:- that Councillor P W Jones be hereby appointed Deputy Mayor for the period up to the next Annual Council meeting.

#### C6 Minutes

The Minutes of the meeting held on 16 April 2024 as previously circulated, were submitted and signed.

MAYOR