

Minutes of the Annual Council (Mayor Making) Meeting held at the Gatehouse Theatre, Eastgate Street, Stafford on Saturday 17 May 2025

Councillor Frank James (Mayor)

Present (for all or part of the meeting):-

Councillors:

Barron J A
Beatty F
Cooke R P
Cooper A G
Dodson M G
Fordham I D
Hobbs A D
Hood J
James R A
Jones E G R
Jones P W
Kenney R

Leason P A
Nixon A
Nixon L
Pearce A N
Pert J M
Powell J S
Reid A F
Rouxel D P
Sandiford A J
Winnington M J

Officers in attendance:-

T Clegg - Chief Executive

I CurranJ DeanHead of Law and GovernanceDemocratic Services Officer

C1 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors K M Aspin, E L Carter, B M Cross, A P Edgeller, P C Edgeller, A T A Godfrey, A M Loughran, B McKeown, A R McNaughton, D M McNaughton, J A Nixon, G P K Pardesi, M Phillips, J P Read, J T Rose, S N Spencer and J Thorley.

C2 Election of Mayor

RESOLVED:- that under the provisions of Section 3 of the Local Government Act 1972, Councillor J A Barron be hereby elected Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year and until his successor becomes entitled to act in that Office.

(Councillor Barron was then invited to enter the Theatre and took the Chair. She was informed of and was congratulated upon her election as Mayor of the Borough and, having made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and taken the Oath of Allegiance to His Majesty the King, expressed her appreciation to the Council for the confidence it was now placing on her).

Councillor Jenny Barron, Mayor (in the Chair)

C3 Mayor's Chaplain

The Mayor appointed Pastor John Marshall as her Chaplain.

C4 Retiring Mayor

RESOLVED:- that the Council's appreciation of the services rendered by Councillor F D J James be recorded.

C5 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

RESOLVED:- that Councillor A G Cooper be hereby appointed Deputy Mayor for the period up to the next Annual Council meeting.

C6 Minutes

The Minutes of the meeting held on 8 April 2025 as previously circulated, were submitted and signed.

MAYOR