

Minutes of the Annual Council (Appointments) Meeting held at the **County Buildings, Martin Street,** Stafford on Monday 19 May 2025

Councillor Jenny Barron (Mayor)

Present (for all or part of the meeting):-

Councillors:

K M Aspin A M Loughran **B** McKeown E L Carter R P Cooke A Nixon A G Cooper J Nixon **B M Cross** L Nixon

A P Edgeller G P K Pardesi P C Edgeller A N Pearce I D Fordham M Phillips A T A Godfrey J P Read A D Hobbs A F Reid J T Rose J Hood F D J James D P Rouxel R A James A J Sandiford E G R Jones S N Spencer P W Jones J Thorley M J Winnington

R Kenney P A Leason

Officers in attendance:-

T Clegg Chief Executive

I Curran Head of Law and Governance J Allen **Democratic Services Officer**

C7 Minutes

The Minutes of the previous meeting held on 17 May 2025 were agreed as a true and correct record.

C8 **Apologies**

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors F Beatty, M G Dodson, A R McNaughton, D M McNaughton, J M Pert and J S Powell.

C9 **Announcements**

The Mayor thanked Members for attending and supporting her at the Annual Council meeting on 17 May. She also thanked the staff for making it a memorable day.

C10 Leaders Appointments to the Cabinet and Appointment of Deputy Leader of the Council

The Leader of the Council advised Members of the following Cabinet Member appointments:-

Councillor R Kenney - Deputy Leader (Town Centres Regeneration)

Councillor R P Cooke - Resources Portfolio

Councillor J Hood - Community Portfolio

Councillor G P K Pardesi - Leisure Portfolio

Councillor I D Fordham - Environment Portfolio

Councillor A F Reid - Economic Development and Planning Portfolio

Councillor A N Pearce - Climate Action and Nature Recovery

RESOLVED:- that the appointments made by the Leader of the Council be noted.

C11 Appointment of Committees and Allocation of Seats Thereto

The Leader of the Council proposed the appointments to the Committees and Working Groups for the 2025/26 Municipal Year as set out in the document as circulated, which were seconded by Councillor R P Cooke.

On being put to the vote, the uncontested appointments were declared to be carried.

RESOLVED:- that the undermentioned Committees and Working Groups be established:-

RESOURCES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (10 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
K M Aspin	P A Leason
E L Carter	A Nixon
M G Dodson	J S Powell
R A James	J P Read
A M Loughran	M J Winnington

Chair - Councillor M J Winnington

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND PLANNING SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (10 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
F Beatty	B McKeown
B M Cross	D M McNaughton
P C Edgeller	F D J James
P W Jones	J S Powell
A M Loughran	D P Rouxel

Chair - Councillor F Beatty

COMMUNITY WELLBEING SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (10 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
A P Edgeller	B McKeown
A D Hobbs	L Nixon
E G R Jones	M Phillips
P A Leason	J T Rose
D M McNaughton	J Thorley

Chair - Councillor A P Edgeller

AUDIT AND ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (6 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
K M Aspin	A M Loughran
M G Dodson	A R McNaughton
P A Leason	D P Rouxel

Chair - Councillor M G Dodson

LICENSING COMMITTEE (10 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
A G Cooper	J A Nixon
A P Edgeller	L Nixon
P A Leason	J P Read
A M Loughran	J T Rose
B McKeown	J Thorley

Chair - Councillor A M Loughran

PLANNING COMMITTEE (11 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
B M Cross	A R McNaughton
P C Edgeller	A Nixon
R A James	M Phillips
A D Hobbs	A J Sandiford
J Hood	S N Spencer
R Kenney	

Chair - Councillor A Nixon Vice-Chair - Councillor S N Spencer

EMPLOYEE APPEALS AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE (5 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
I D Fordham	A M Loughran
F D J James	D P Rouxel
E G R Jones	

Chair - Councillor A M Loughran

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
P W Jones	A J Sandiford
A R McNaughton	M J Winnington
J T Rose	

Chair - Councillor A R McNaughton

JOINT APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (3 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
R P Cooke	J M Pert
A N Pearce	

Chair - Councillor R P Cooke

WORKING GROUPS

MEMBERS FACILITIES GROUP (4 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
A G Cooper	A D Hobbs
I D Fordham	D P Rouxel

MEMBER DEVELOPMENT WORKING GROUP (5 MEMBERS)

Councillors:	
F Beatty	B McKeown
A G Cooper	D M McNaughton
A D Hobbs	

C12 Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies and Organisations

The Leader of the Council proposed the appointment of representatives to Outside Bodies and Organisations for the 2025/26 Municipal Year as set out in the document as circulated, which were seconded by Councillor R P Cooke.

On being put to the vote, the uncontested appointments were declared to be carried.

Members then proceeded to vote on the contested appointments after which the Mayor duly declared the following results:-

Organisation	Representative(s)	
STRATEGIC		
Local Government Association - Annual Conference (Group Leaders)	A T A Godfrey, R Kenney, J M Pert, D P Rouxel	
Stafford District Arts Council	J Hood, D P Rouxel	
Staffordshire Sustainability Board	I D Fordham, A N Pearce	
Regional Employers Organisation for Local Government in the West Midlands	R P Cooke	
PRIORITY		
West Coast Rail - 250	A F Reid, M J Winnington	
Staffordshire Police, Fire and Crime Panel	I D Fordham (sub), A M Loughran	
Health and Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Staffordshire County Council)	A P Edgeller	
Corporate Parenting Panel	A D Hobbs	
Cannock Chase National Landscape	A N Pearce	

Organisation	Representative(s)	
COMMUNITY		
Sir Graham Balfour High School Management Liaison Group - Sports Facilities	A R McNaughton	
Swynnerton Village Hall Management Committee	R A James	
Cotes and Standon Community Centre Management Committee	P W Jones	
Colwich and Haywood Community Association	B McKeown	
Council of Management of Broad Eye Windmill (Stafford)	A N Pearce	
Stafford Narrow Gauge Railway Society	Alderman M Smith	
Walton (Stone) Community Centre - Management Committee	J S Powell	
West Midlands Reserve Forces and Cadets Association	B M Cross	
Mid-Staffordshire Bereavement Group - Bereavement and Loss Support Group	G P K Pardesi	
Local Liaison Committee - Swynnerton ROF Site	R A James	
Sow and Penk Drainage Board	F Beatty, A M Loughran, B McKeown, J P Read, S N Spencer, M J Winnington	

Organisation	Representative(s)
Relate North Staffordshire and Stafford	D M McNaughton
Campaign to Protect Rural England (Staffordshire Branch)	A F Reid, S N Spencer
Stafford Sports College - Baseline Tennis - Tennis Centre Committee	A D Hobbs
PLASMET (UK) LTD Site Liaison Committee	B McKeown

RESOLVED:- that the appointments set out above be made to Outside Bodies and Organisations for the 2025/26 Municipal year.

C13 Appointment of Town Warden

The Leader of the Council proposed the appointment of Mrs Susan Savage as Town Warden for the ensuing year, which was duly seconded by Councillor R Kenney.

Members then voted on the proposal as set out, which was declared to be carried.

RESOLVED:- that the appointment of Mrs Susan Savage as Town Warden for the ensuing year be confirmed.

MAYOR